Ohio State

Ohio State WR Marvin Harrison Jr. named 1 of 4 Heisman Trophy finalists

COLUMBUS — Ohio State wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. has been named a finalist for this year’s Heisman Trophy.

>>RELATED: Heisman Trophy finalists: Jayden Daniels, Marvin Harrison Jr., Bo Nix, Michael Penix Jr.

The other finalists announced were quarterbacks. They include LSU’s Jayden Daniels, Oregon’s Bo Nix, and Washington’s Michael Penix Jr.

The Buckeyes have now had Heisman Trophy finalists in five of the last six seasons.

  • 2018- Dwayne Haskins
  • 2019- Justin Fields, Chase Young
  • 2021- C.J. Stroud
  • 2022- C.J. Stroud

Ohio State’s last Heisman Trophy winner was Troy Smith back in 2006.

>>8 Ohio State football players earn All-Big Ten offensive honors

Harrison is coming off a year where he set a school record for the most 100-yard receiving games with 15 games during his three-year career.

He is tied for second in the country with 14 touchdowns and ranked in the top 10 in receiving yards with 1,210.

Harrison was named the Big Ten’s 2023 Offensive Player of the Year and Wide Receiver of the Year last week. He is also a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

The winner will be announced Saturday night in New York City at 8 p.m.

Comments on this article