Burrow, Chase, Whitworth win league honors ahead of Super Bowl

Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow, wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase, and Rams left tackle Andrew Whitworth are being recognized for their outstanding seasons.

Burrow and Chase were among the players honored at Thursday’s “NFL Honors” show.

The Bengals quarterback took home two honors during the show. He was named the Associated Press Comeback Player of the Year for returning after a season-ending knee injury he sustained in last season against the Washington Football Team.

>> Cheryl McHenry, James Rider travel to L.A. for The Big Game; Special newscasts planned

Burrow led the Bengals to their first AFC Championship and Super Bowl appearance in over 30 years. In his comeback season, Burrow completed a league-high 70.4 percent of his passes, according to CBS Sports.

That wasn’t the only award Burrow took home Thursday evening. He was also awarded the Courtyard Unstoppable Performance of the Year for his week 17 outing against the Kansas City Chiefs. In that game, Burrow completed 30 of his 39 pass attempts, throwing for 446 yards and four touchdowns.

>> Joe Burrow’s parents talk Super Bowl, son’s determination

Chase was voted the Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year. In his first year in the NFL, the former LSU Tiger set the record for the most receiving yards in a rookie season in the Super Bowl era with 1,455, according to our news partners at 10TV. That also broke the Bengals’ franchise single-season record.

This season Chase had 81 receptions and 13 touchdowns. Additionally, he set the record for the most yards recorded by a rookie in a single game with 266. He did that in week 17 against the Chiefs.

As the Rams left tackle, Whitworth took home the Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

This is the first player from the Rams to have ever won the award.

Head coach Sean McVay of the Los Angeles Rams celebrates with Andrew Whitworth #77 after defeating the New Orleans Saints in the NFC Championship game at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on January 20, 2019. (Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images)

Whitworth was with the Bengals as a lineman from 2006 to 2016.

Win $1,000 with WHIO Radio's Payroll Payoff Contest

Latest Trending