MIAMI VALLEY — It can be frustrating for motorists to wait behind a school bus as kids are picked up or dropped off, but it’s important to remember that the inconvenience is worthwhile when it comes to students’ safety.
News Center 7’s I-Team found that more than 6,500 crashes in Ohio involved schools buses between 2014 and 2018.
The investigation also revealed that the Ohio State Patrol has been issuing more and more tickets for drivers not stopping for school buses nearly every year in the last five years.
So when can you pass a school bus?
If a road has four or more lanes, drivers do not have to stop for buses traveling in the opposite direction, according to Ohio law. However, vehicles going the same direction of the bus most stop.
If there are three lanes or less, all motorists have to stop for school buses.
Drivers must stop 10 feet from the front or back of the bus, depending on which direction the vehicle is going, according to Ohio law.
And for motorists who don’t stop for school buses? They can be fined up to $500.