4 Dayton Flyers honored with postseason A-10 Conference awards

DAYTON — Four members of the Dayton Flyers men’s basketball team were tabbed with Atlantic 10 honors Wednesday.

>>UD women take home several Atlantic 10 awards

The list was highlighted by senior guard Jalen Crutcher who was named to the First Team All-Atlantic 10 for the second consecutive year.

The award likely completes a highly-decorated career for Crutcher in Dayton who won his fourth conference honor in four years. Crutcher was named to the all-rookie team his freshman year in 2017-18, conference third team in 18-19, and the first team honors last year.

Crutcher is second in program history in assists, 16th in scoring, and fourth in minutes played.

NCAA rules in place due to the pandemic would allow for Crutcher, or any of the other senior, to return next year. Previously none of the seniors on the team announced specific plans for next year, but indicated their options were open.

Senior guard Ibi Watson was named to the conference’s third team. Graduate student Jordy Tshimanga was named to the academic team.

Freshman forward Mustapha Amzil was named to the A-10 All Rookie Team. Amzil joined the halfway through the year but played primarily as a starter in the team’s final 18 games of the season.

“We are proud of the way our three seniors represented our program throughout their careers and we are excited about Mustapha’s successes, and his potential moving forward,” Head Coach Anthony Grant said in a statement Wednesday.

“All of these young men, along with their teammates, coaches and staff members across the Atlantic 10 adapted to the challenges of the pandemic and made tremendous sacrifices to help achieve this recognition and make this season possible.”

VCU’s Nah’Shon “Bones” Hyland was tabbed conference player of the year. Joining Crutcher and Hyland on the conference’s first team were Kellan Grady, Davidson, Tre Mitchell, Massachusetts, Kyle Lofton, St. Bonaventure, and Jordan Goodwin, Saint Louis.

St Bonaventure head coach Mark Schmidt was named coach of the year. Schmidt will seek an A-10 Tournament title Sunday at UD Arena against VCU. The game will start at 1 p.m. and will air on WHIO-TV.

Last year, Dayton’s Obi Toppin and Grant were named conference player and coach of the year.