Dayton’s Obi Toppin named as semifinalist for National Player of the Year award

DAYTON — Dayton’s Obi Toppin was named as one of the 10 semifinalists for college basketball’s National Player of the Year award Thursday.

>>Dayton Flyers extend nation’s longest winning streak in victory over Rhode Island Wednesday

The semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy were revealed by the Atlanta Tip-Off Club, who handles the voting for the award.

RELATED: Dayton Flyers climb to No. 3 in Associated Press Top 25 Poll

The other semifinalists named along with Toppin are: Udoka Azubuike, Kansas, Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, Devon Dotson, Kansas, Malachi Flynn, San Diego State, Luka Garza, Iowa, Markus Howard, Marquette, Myles Powell, Seton Hall, Peyton Pritchard, Oregon, and Jalen Smith, Maryland.

RELATED: ESPN’s College GameDay coming to University of Dayton Saturday

Four finalists will be announced March 17. The Naismith Trophy will be presented April 5 during the Men’s Division I Championship weekend in Atlanta.

>>Obi Toppin named conference Player of the Week for 4th time this season

The Flyers defeated Rhode Island Wednesday night to extend the nation’s longest winning streak to 19 games.

Dayton wraps up the regular season Saturday at the UD Arena against George Washington at 7 p.m. The Flyers will look to become the first team in the Atlantic 10 to go undefeated in conference play since the 2005-06 season.