Dayton’s Obi Toppin named a finalist for Naismith Award

Dayton’s Obi Toppin named a finalist for Naismith Award
DAYTON, OH - MARCH 07: Obi Toppin #1 of the Dayton Flyers reacts after a dunk in the second half of a game against the George Washington Colonials at UD Arena on March 7, 2020 in Dayton, Ohio. Dayton defeated George Washington 76-51. (Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images) (Joe Robbins)

DAYTON — Dayton’s Obi Toppin was named as one of the five finalists for college basketball’s national player of the year award.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, which awards the Naismith Award announced the finalists in a tweet Tuesday afternoon.

Content Continues Below

Toppin was named a finalist along with Udoka Azubuike of Kansas, Luka Garza of Iowa,  Myles Powell of Seton Hall, and Payton Pritchard of Oregon.

Fans are able to cast a ballot for the award with the fan vote making up five percent of the overall vote. Votes can be cast between March 20 and April 1 at

The winner of the Naismith Trophy will be announced April 3.

Toppin has been named player of the year by multiple outlets including USA Today, CBS Sports, NBC Sports, and Rivals.

Toppin finished the season averaging 20 points and 7.5 rebounds per game, and shot over 63 percent from the field.