More awards for Dayton’s duo; Toppin, Grant win top honors by U.S. Basketball Writers

More awards for Dayton’s duo; Toppin, Grant win top honors by U.S. Basketball Writers
DAYTON, OHIO - FEBRUARY 22: Head coach Anthony Grant of the Dayton Flyers presents the game to Obi Toppin #1 of the Dayton Flyers for joining the 1000 point club after the game against the Duquesne Dukes at UD Arena on February 22, 2020 in Dayton, Ohio. (Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images) (Justin Casterline)

DAYTON — You can add the U.S. Basketball Writers Association as the latest sports body to award Dayton’s Obi Toppin and Anthony Grant with their top postseason honors.

The USBWA announced Wednesday that Toppin was awarded the Oscar Robinson Trophy for national player of the year. Grant was awarded the Henry Iba Award, presented to the national coach of the year.

Content Continues Below

Two Flyer legends gave the news to Toppin and Grant. WHIO’s Bucky Bockhorn, a long-time friend and former professional teammate of Robinson, told Toppin the news of his award. Former head coach Don Donoher, a friend of Iba, passed the news to Grant.

Wednesday’s announcement comes after the Associated Press named Toppin National Player of the Year and Grant National Coach of the Year Tuesday.

Toppin has been named previously player of the year by several outlets, including CBS Sports, USA Today, NBC Sports, and others.

Grant was also named national coach of the year by CBS Sports and the Sporting News. He was also the Atlantic 10 Conference Coach of the Year.

More awards could be in store for both Toppin and Grant. Toppin is a finalist for The Naismith Award for national player of the year, the John R. Wooden Award and is on the watch list for the Karl Malone Award, presented to the nation’s best forward.

Grant is also a finalist for the Wooden Coach of the Year and the Naismith Coach of the Year awards.

Fan voting for the Naismith Awards is open and equals five percent of the total vote. Votes can be cast through April 1 at 

Dayton finished with a 29-2 record, setting a school-record for wins in a season, even without playing a single postseason game. Dayton was ranked third in the final Associated Press Top 25 Poll.