Wright State Baseball wins the Horizon League Tournament Championship for the second straight season

FAIRBORN — The Wright State Raiders baseball team won the 2022 Horizon League Championship for the second straight season Saturday afternoon over Oakland, 24-0, at Nischwitz Stadium in Fairborn.

The 24 runs scored were the most in an Horizon League championship game and the Raiders did that through seven innings.

Catcher Sammy Sass put the Raiders ahead, 4-0, with a grand slam in the bottom of the first as they never looked back. It was the first of Sass’ three home runs as he drove in nine runs for the game.

Designated hitter Zane Harris also had three hits and five RBIs.

Wright State led, 9-0, after five innings but scored eight runs in the sixth and seven more in the seventh. The Raiders pitching held Oakland to only two hits. Alex Theis went 5 1/3 innings walked eight but struck out seven Grizzlies.

Seven Wright State players made the Horizon League all-tournament team. Zane Harris was named MVP. Other members of the all-tourney team include Justin Riemer, Gehrig Anglin, Alex Sayre, Sammy Sass and Andrew Patrick.

The Raiders will find out who they will play in the NCAA Baseball Tournament when the bracket is announced Monday at 12 noon on ESPN2.

Comments on this article