Cincinnati Bengals announces final 53 man roster for the 2022 season

CINCINNATI — The Cincinnati Bengals have announced their 53 man roster for the upcoming 2022 season.

The Bengals had a Tuesday deadline of 4 p.m. to cut their roster down to 53 players.

>>Bengals, Rams joint practice ends early after things ‘got a little scuffle-y’ with fights on field

The Bengals are returning 72 percent of its team that was on the Super Bowl Roster.

Punter Kevin Huber survived a training camp challenge and will punt in his franchise-record 208 game for the defending AFC champs.

Joe Burrow will make his third straight Opening Day start at quarterback with Brandon Allen as the back-up.

Cincinnati will carry four running backs led by Joe Mixon.

The rest of the skill position players includes five wide receivers and three tight ends.

Joe Mixon will be the team’s top running back while Ja’Marr Chase and Tee Higgins will be the starting wide receivers. Hayden Hurst is expected to be the starting tight end.

Evan McPherson will be the team’s placekicker.

>>Former Bengals great Ken Riley named finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2023 class

The waived 23 players includes the following:

  • LS Cal Adomitis
  • QB Jake Browning
  • P Drue Chrisman
  • OT Devin Cochran
  • DT Domenique Davis
  • TE Nick Eubanks
  • G Lamont Gaillard (injured)
  • G Nate Gilliam
  • LB Clarence Hicks
  • CB Delonte Hood
  • WR Trenton Irwin
  • DE Raymond Johnson III
  • LB Keandre Jones
  • WR Kwamie Lassiter II
  • TE Thaddeus Moss
  • G Desmond Noel (injured)
  • HB Jacques Patrick
  • WR Kendric Pryor
  • TE Justin Rigg
  • LB Tegray Scales
  • DT Tyler Shelvin
  • DT Tariqious Tisdale

>>Bengals rename Paul Brown Stadium after reaching naming rights agreement with area company

The Bengals will begin the 2022 season on September 11 when they host the Pittsburgh Steelers at Paycor Stadium.