Winner of Vax-A-Million full ride scholarship is from Montgomery County

The first winners of the Ohio Vax-A-Million drawing were announced tonight at 7:29 p.m. on WHIO-TV.

Joseph Costello, of Englewood, was selected as the winner of the four-year, full ride college scholarship.

Abbigail Bugenske, of Silverton, won $1 million.

The announcement also was carried on the WHIO-TV Now app on Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Smart TV devices. WHIO also will stream the announcement on and the WHIO news app.

The first two winners of the $1 million prize and the free college tuition to a state university or college were chosen Monday.

>>Vax-A-Million: Registrations now open on state’s website for Ohioans to opt-in; how the program will work

The Ohio Department of Health waited 48 hours to announce the winners of the drawing to verify the eligibility of the winner.

>>Ohio Prepares For First Vax-A-Million Drawing

Eligible, vaccinated Ohioans had until 11:59 p.m. Sunday to opt-in to the first drawing. Ohioans who registered for the first drawing will not need to register each week and registration will carry over for the other four drawings.

Anyone who still needs to register for future drawings can do so here.

>>RELATED: Ohio’s Vax-A-Million lottery: How can you win?

>>Rep. Powell seeks to stop Vax-A-Million program ahead of first drawing

To be eligible for the $1 million prize you must be:

  • At least 18 years old
  • A permanent resident of Ohio
  • Have at least one dose of the vaccine

Some state employees in the DeWine administration are not eligible.

>> Miami Valley residents weigh in on Vax-A-Million lottery program

Ohioans between the ages of 12-17 are eligible to win a four-year, full-ride scholarship to any Ohio state college or university.