Montgomery County Board of Elections conducts 2 recounts

MONTGOMERY COUNTY — The Montgomery County Board of Elections is finalizing the General Election with two recounts.

One recount is happening today at 8:30 a.m. for the second position in the office of Butler Township Trustee. The recount is between Ken Betz and Mike Thein, the board stated on its website.

>> Omicron variant: CDC recommends COVID-19 booster for all adults amid latest threat

Ohio law requires a mandatory recount of any contest where the margin for a declared winner is within one-half of one percent. Five votes currently separate Betz and Thein.

The second recount will take place Dec. 6 at 8:30 a.m. for the fourth position of the office of Village of Carlisle Council. Six votes currently separate candidates Will Bicknell and Randall Jewett.

>> Ex-trooper begins sentence for sex crimes; attorney requests new trial

All of the recounts will happen at the Board of Elections office located inside the Montgomery County Administration Building on West Third Street in Dayton. Anyone who would like to observe the recounts must sign in to be credentialed at the Board of Elections front office on the Mezzanine.

Comments on this article