breaking news

Announcement of 20 Greatest Dayton Dragons players underway

Published: Monday, February 04, 2019 @ 5:12 PM

With the Dayton Dragons 20th Season Celebration coming up, selection of the “20 Greatest Dragons” from the team’s history is underway.

Players will be announced, one at a time and two per week, leading up to the Dragons 20th Opening Night game on April 4.

>> 2019 Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame nomination forms available

Content Continues Below

The 20 players have been selected based on a media vote of Dragons television, newspaper, radio and internet reporters. 

The Dragons also announced its “20th Season Celebration Game” will be on at 2 p.m. March 30. 

>> Apply for the Huber Heights Citizen Police Academy

This game will match the 2019 Dragons against a team of alumni Dragons still playing in the Cincinnati Reds minor league system, the release stated.

The full Dragons alumni team roster will be announced at a later date, but the Reds have identified five former Dragons who will be participating: outfielder Taylor Trammel, catcher Tyler Stephenson, infielder Jonathan India, outfielder T.J. Friedl and catcher Chris Okey.

Ticket information for the celebration game
  • Dragons seasons ticket holders have received information vie email
  • Fans can go to to add their name to the ticket wait list
  • Single-game ticket sales will begin in mid-February