National Weather Service confirms 17 tornado touchdowns in Ohio

UPDATE @ 10 p.m. (Nov. 7)

New damage surveys completed today by the National Weather Service has brought the statewide tornado touchdown count to 17 from Sunday’s storms.

There were still just the three touchdowns in the Miami Valley with the rest across northern Ohio and one in far eastern Ohio.

The average number of tornadoes annually in Ohio is 19 (1991-2010)


There were 13 tornado touchdowns in Ohio on Sunday, according to a scan of National Weather Service data from five weather service offices.

RELATED: EF-1 twister hits South Vienna, Clark County

RELATED: EF-2 tornado hits Celina; another hits west Mercer County

Those offices are in Cleveland, Pittsburgh, Charleston, West Va.,; Fort Wayne, Ind., and Wilmington.

It is important to note that the data makes reference to touchdowns. Some of the reported touchdowns may have come from the same tornado, Storm Center 7 Chief Meteorologist Eric Elwell said Monday night.

Here's a list of the reported touchdowns:

  • EF-2 Mercer County (western county)
  • EF-2 Mercer (Celina)
  • EF-1 Sandusky County (Clyde)
  • EF-2 Crawford County (Galion)
  • EF-1 Columbiana County (Calcutta)
  • EF-1 Erie County (Bloomingville)
  • EF-1 Ashland County (Haysville)
  • EF-1 Wayne County (Wooster)
  • EF-1 Seneca County (West Lodi)
  • EF-1 Seneca County (Republic)
  • EF-1 Huron County (Steuben)
  • EF-1 Clark County (South Vienna)
  • EF-0 Seneca County (Fitchville)