Wright State’s Love, Nagy awarded top Horizon League honors

Wright State’s Love, Nagy awarded top Horizon League honors

FAIRBORN — After claiming the school’s first outright regular season Horizon League title last week, Wright State was awarded seven year-end awards by the conference Monday.

Junior forward Loudon Love was named Horizon League Player of the Year and head coach Scott Nagy was named Co-Coach of the Year, the conference announced this afternoon.

Content Continues Below

Nagy, in his fourth season as head coach, was named coach of the year for the third time since taking over the program and will share the award with Cleveland State’s Dennis Gate.

Love is the first Raider since DeShaun Wood in the 2006-07 season to be awarded the conference’s player of the year, according to the university.

Love averaged just shy of a double-double on the season, with 16.3 points per game and 9.7 rebounds per game.

In addition to the player of the year honors, Love was also named to the conference’s first team. Senior forward Bill Wampler was named to the conference’s second team and senior guard Cole Gentry was named to the third team.

Rounding out the conference awards for the Raiders were forward Grant Basile and guard Tanner Holden, who were both named to the all-freshman team.

The Raiders return to action in the Horizon League tournament next week. As the number one seed, they will play the lowest remaining seed in the semifinals at the Indiana Farmers Coliseum March 9 at 7 p.m.