Anna Local Schools, Botkins Local Schools, Celina City Schools, Coldwater Exempted Village Schools, Fairlawn Local Schools, Fort Loramie Local Schools, Hardin-Houston Local Schools, Jackson Center Local Schools, Jefferson Township Local Schools, Lehman High School, Logan County, Marion Local Schools, Miami County Public Transit, Minster Local Schools, New Bremen Local Schools, New Knoxville Local Schools, Newton Local Schools, Randolph Eastern School Corp, Randolph Southern School Corp., Russia Local Schools, Shelby Hills Preschool, Sidney City Schools, Sidney Holy Angels, St. Henry Local Schools, St. Marys City Schools, Victory Christian School-Urbana, Wright State Lake Campus,

breaking news

Obi Toppin one of 20 front-runners for Wooden Award

Published: Monday, February 03, 2020 @ 8:42 PM

Dayton Flyers highlights: Obi Toppin scores 24 vs. VCU

Dayton Flyers redshirt sophomore forward Obi Toppin was one of 20 players named to the late-season watch list for the Wooden Award on Monday.

» MORE COVERAGE: Flyers hope to make most of extended break this week

It’s one the awards that honors college basketball’s top player. The winner will be announced on ESPN on April 10.

Content Continues Below

Toppin leads No. 6 Dayton (20-2, 9-0) with 19.7 points and 8.0 rebounds per game. He ranks 12th in the country in effective field-goal percentage (66.6) and 10th in 2-point field-goal percentage (70.2). He leads the nation with 74 dunks.

» BRACKET PREVIEW: NCAA to announce top 16 seeds Saturday

These are the players Toppin is competing with for the Wooden Award. Others could be added to this list later this season: Udoka Azubuike, Kansas; Saddiq Bey, Villanova; Jared Butler, Baylor; Vernon Carey Jr., Duke; Anthony Cowan Jr., Maryland; Devon Dotson, Kansas; Anthony Edwards, Georgia; Malachi Flynn, San Diego State; Luka Garza, Iowa; Markus Howard, Marquette; Tre Jones, Duke; Jordan Nwora, Louisville; Daniel Oturum, Minnesota; Filip Petrusev, Gonzaga; Myles Powell, Seton Hall; Payton Pritchard, Oregon; Jalen Smith, Maryland; Lamar Stevens, Penn State; and Cassius Winston, Michigan State.