Jalen Crutcher named Dayton MVP for the Third Straight Year

Crutcher is eighth Flyer to be named team MVP three times

Senior guard Jalen Crutcher has been named team MVP by the University of Dayton men’s basketball team for the third straight year. Crutcher led UD in several categories this season including scoring (17.6 PPG), assists (4.8 PPG), minutes (38.1) and free throw percentage at 76% (87-114). He becomes the eighth three-time MVP winner. Previous three-time winners include Chris Wright, Brian Roberts, Ryan Perryman and Roosevelt Chapman.

Crutcher ends his career at Dayton ranked 16th in scoring at 1,593 points, fourth in made three-pointers at 242, second in assists with 584 and second in total minutes played at 4,097. He is also a two-time First-Team All-NABC District and First All-Atlantic 10.

Other team awards include Zimi Nwokeji earning the Chris Daniels Memorial Most Improved Player Award, Mustapha Amzil winning the Thomas M. Luppe Award for the team’s top freshmen, Jordy Tshimanga and Rodney Chatman were each named co-winners of the Steve McElvene Best Defender Award.

Dayton went 14-10 last season, losing to Memphis in the 2021 National Invitational Tournament.