Los Angeles Lakers win record-tying 17th NBA title

Lakers win 17th NBA title

The Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Miami Heat 106-93 on Sunday to take their 17th NBA Championship.

According to CNN, this was the Lakers' first NBA Finals appearance since 2010, when the late Kobe Bryant won his fifth and final NBA title. Bryant, along with his daughter Gianna and seven others, died in a Jan. 26 helicopter crash.

Content Continues Below

Sundays win came in Game 6 of the NBA Finals, with the Lakers beating the Heat 4-2 in the best-of-seven series.

Meanwhile, the victory also marks the fourth NBA championship for the Lakers' LeBron James, named MVP, who previously won two consecutive titles with the Heat in 2012 and 2013, followed by the 2016 championship while playing with the Cleveland Cavaliers.

“For me to be a part of such a historical franchise is an unbelievable feeling, not only for myself but for my teammates, for the organization, for the coaches, for the trainers, everybody that’s here,” James said on the court. “We just want our respect. (Lakers vice president of basketball operations and general manager) Rob (Pelinka) wants his respect. (Lakers head) coach (Frank) Vogel wants his respect. Our organization wants their respect. Laker nation wants their respect. And I want my damn respect, too.”

According to CNN, only Michael Jordan has more NBA Finals MVP awards, with six, than James. James, however, is the first player in NBA history to win NBA Finals MVP with three different teams.

Read more here and here.