Winburn wins re-election in new district

Published: Tuesday, November 06, 2012 @ 4:49 PM
Updated: Tuesday, November 06, 2012 @ 10:34 PM

State Rep. Roland Winburn won a close race and will represent the new 43rd Ohio House district after holding off Republican challenger Joyce Deitering.

With all votes counted, Winburn held off Deitering 53 to 47 percent.

“It’s really wonderful this time because this was new territory for me with Preble County,” Winburn said. “There are very supportive people who wished me well, who supported me and thought well of me.

Content Continues Below

“The other part of that, I’ll be able to continue my work as a state representative and try to pass positive legislation to make Ohio better, safer and economically stronger.”

Republicans had eyed Winburn’s once-safe district as an opportunity to pick up ground in the Ohio House after approving new legislative lines in 2010 that made the district more politically balanced. The Ohio Democratic Party donated more than $202,000 in advertising to Winburn’s campaign.

The 43rd district is made up of Dayton, Trotwood, Harrison Twp., western Montgomery County and all of Preble County. The former 40th district was more solidly Democratic.

Lehner wins 6th District Senate race

Incumbent Peggy Lehner won her first election as a state senator, cruising to an easy victory over Democratic challenger Rick McKiddy.

Lehner was victorious over McKiddy, 63 to 37 percent.

Lehner said she hopes that Ohio will continue to show improvement in its economy during her new four-year term.

“These last two years we’ve been tied down by economic reality. Now we’re going to have some opportunity to look at some programs that will be beneficial to the state,” Lehner said.

Lehner’s 6th district sits inside Montgomery County and includes parts of Dayton as well as Centerville, Huber Heights, Kettering, Englewood, Clayton, Miamisburg, Moraine, Oakwood, Germantown and Vandalia.

Perales wins 73rd House race

Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek) defeated challenger Bill Conner (D-Beavercreek) in the Ohio House 73rd District race.

“There is much to do in Columbus. I look forward to rolling up my sleeves and getting to work on behalf of the people of the 73rd District and the state of Ohio,” Perales said.

Perales, currently the Greene County Board of Commissioners president, defeated State Rep. Jarrod Martin and Capt. Eric Spicer of the Greene County Sheriff’s Office in the Republican primary.

Strahorn wins big

Long-time Democratic official Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) won in a landslide over Jeffrey Wellbaum (R-Dayton) in the 39th House District — a district historically heavily Democrat. The district consists of most of the city of Dayton and part of Jefferson Twp.

Strahorn, a former state representative and former state senator, entered the race Aug. 12 when embattled state Rep. Clayton Luckie withdrew during an FBI investigation.

Strahorn served in the state House from 2001-08, including three years in House leadership, two as assistant minority whip and one as minority whip. He was defeated in the 2010 5th District Senate race by Republican Bill Beagle.

Henne defeats Fisher

In the 40th House District, incumbent Mike Henne (R-Clay Twp.) defeated Carl D. Fisher (D-Huber Heights) in a rematch of the 2010 contest for the 36th Ohio House seat.

The district consists of parts of Butler Twp., Clay Twp., Clayton, northeast Dayton, Englewood, Huber Heights, Riverside and Vandalia.

Two years ago, Henne won with nearly two-thirds of the vote.

Butler wins House seat

In the 41st House District, incumbent Jim Butler (R-Oakwood) defeated Caroline Gentry (D-Oakwood).

The district is made up of Riverside, Oakwood, Kettering, and parts of Dayton and Centerville.

Butler was chosen to fill the 37th District House seat in 2011 when Lehner took over a state Senate seat.

Blair wins re-election

In the 42nd House District, incumbent Terry Blair (R-Washington Twp.) had no problem in defeating Aaron Buczkowski (D-Miamisburg).

The district consists of Moraine, West Carrollton, Miamisburg, Germantown, part of Centerville, and German, Washington and Miami Twps.

Maag wins again

In the 62nd House District, incumbent Ron Maag (R-Lebanon) was easily victorious over challenger Mike Kassalen (D-Morrow).

The district consists of Springboro, Franklin, Carlisle, Waynesville, and surrounding areas in western and southern Warren County.

Hackett, Adams win House seats

In the 74th House District, incumbent Robert D. Hackett (R-London) took about two-thirds of the vote, beating Steve W. Key (D-Wilberforce).

In the 80th House District, incumbent Richard Adams (R-Troy) cruised to a win over Dave W. Fisher (D-Bethel Twp.).