Anna Local Schools, Botkins Local Schools, Celina City Schools, Coldwater Exempted Village Schools, Fairlawn Local Schools, Fort Loramie Local Schools, Hardin-Houston Local Schools, Jackson Center Local Schools, Jefferson Township Local Schools, Lehman High School, Logan County, Marion Local Schools, Miami County Public Transit, Minster Local Schools, New Bremen Local Schools, New Knoxville Local Schools, Newton Local Schools, Randolph Eastern School Corp, Randolph Southern School Corp., Russia Local Schools, Shelby Hills Preschool, Sidney City Schools, Sidney Holy Angels, St. Henry Local Schools, St. Marys City Schools, Victory Christian School-Urbana, Wright State Lake Campus,

breaking news

WHIO-TV a 15-time finalist in 2019 Ohio Associated Press Media Editors contest

Published: Friday, February 14, 2020 @ 6:37 PM

WHIO-TV has been named a 15-time finalist in the Television II category in the 2019 Ohio Associated Press Media Editors radio and TV contest.

The awards in actual order of finish — first or second — will be announced at the annual Ohio APME awards banquet May 9 in Columbus. The General Excellence, Hall of Fame, Rising Star and First Amendment award winners also will be announced at that meeting.

Twenty-four broadcasters submitted 299 entries in the contest, which featured news, sports and weather reporting as well as features, documentaries and photography from 2019.

Content Continues Below

The AP is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing newspapers and broadcast stations in the United States.

Finalists in the Television II category, 2019 Ohio APME broadcast contest, announced Friday:


Best Producer: Emily Gay, WHIO-TV, Dayton; Sheila Miller, WFMJ-TV, Youngstown.


Best Anchor (TV Only): Andrew Kinsey, WTOL-TV, Toledo; Cheryl McHenry, WHIO-TV, Dayton.


Best Feature Reporting: John Bedell and Michael Burianek, WHIO-TV, Dayton, "The Truth About Tourette's;" Andrew Kinsey, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "My Jump' Helps Seniors with Their Bucket Lists."


Best Broadcast Writing: James Brown and Michael Burianek, WHIO-TV, Dayton, "Making A Difference: Helping Strangers;" WHIO-TV, Dayton, "Making A Difference: Sympathy Cards."


Best Photographer: Todd Gaertner, WTVG-TV, Toledo; Eric Rerucha, WTOL-TV, Toledo.


Best Reporter: Jim Otte, WHIO-TV, Dayton; Derek Steyer, WFMJ-TV, Youngstown.


Best Sportscast: WTAP-TV, Parkersburg, "Football Frenzy September 20;" WTVG-TV, Toledo, "13abc Football Friday."


Best Sports Feature: Mike Hartsock, WHIO-TV, Dayton, "After EF-4 Tornado, Trotwood Players Help Favorite Teacher;" Jordan Strack and Juby Rerucha, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "Born Addicted: Jonah's Story."


Best Use of Photography: Michael Burianek, WHIO-TV, Dayton; Derek Steyer, WFMJ-TV, Youngstown.


Best Documentary or Series: Brian Dugger and Eric Rerucha, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "11 Investigates ' Guilty Without Proof;" WTVG-TV, Toledo, "One Small Step."


Best Coverage of a Scheduled Event: WKEF/WRGT-TV, Miamisburg, "Remembering Detective Del Rio;" WTVG-TV, Toledo, "Your Vote 2019."


Best Spot News Coverage: Lauren Stebelton, WFMJ-TV, Youngstown, "Heavy Rain;" WHIO-TV, Dayton, "The Oregon District Mass Shooting."


Best Continuing Coverage: Brian Dugger and Tyler Paley, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "11 Investigates: Sunny Farms Landfill;" WHIO-TV, Dayton, "WHIO-TV: Memorial Day Tornadoes Continuing Coverage."


Best Enterprise Reporting: Kristi Leigh, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "What Will Happen to Baby DOE?: 11 Investigates;" WHIO-TV, Dayton, "Walking the Path of the Storm."


Best Investigative Reporting: Brian Dugger and Eric Rerucha, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "11 Investigates: Defense on a Budget;" Molly Koweek and Michael Burianek, WHIO-TV, Dayton, "I-Team Investigation: Erin's Law."


Best Newscast: Alex King and Quincy Wallace, WHIO-TV, Dayton, "Corruption Probe Indictments;" Savannah Marceau and Quincy Wallace, WHIO-TV, Dayton, "Winter Storm Team 7 Coverage."


Best Weathercast: Chris Vickers, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "First Alert Weathercast;" WTVG-TV, Toledo, "Winter Weather Alert."


Best Digital Project: Victoria Dugger and Brian Dugger, WTOL-TV, Toledo, "The Strange Disappearance of Tammy Grogan;" Lindsey Watson, WKBN/WYTV-TV, Youngstown, "Family Celebrates Lives of Local Flight 427 Victims, 25 Years Later."


Best Digital Presence: WHIO-TV, Dayton; WTOL-TV, Toledo