Huber Heights Athletic Foundation,

breaking news

Latest News

Unofficial count: Whaley and Wagner in, Leitzell out

Published: Tuesday, May 07, 2013 @ 7:38 PM
Updated: Tuesday, May 07, 2013 @ 10:49 PM

With 100 percent of precincts reporting, Nan Whaley and A.J. Wagner have survived the runoff vote for mayor of Dayton, according to unofficial results from the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

Whaley has received 4,965 votes, and Wagner came in second with 2,566 votes. Mayor Gary Leitzell lost with 2,338 and will not advance to the November election.

Whaley told NewsCenter 7 that she felt very good about getting more than 50 percent of the vote with two opponents.

Content Continues Below

“We’ve had some great momentum happening in the city and we want to make sure we leverage those assets we’ve been talking about and we’re really proud of the vision we have for the future of the city,” she said.

Leitzell said the loss doesn’t bother him.

“I’ll have more power than whoever becomes mayor,” he said. “Regardless of whether you win or lose, if you’re not elected, you have more power as a private citizen to achieve things and get things done, because you’re no longer under the scrutiny of the public eyes that watch you.”

Wagner said Daytonians know that the city needs new leadership to turn around. “They’re willing to stake a whole lot on my being willing to do that.”

In the Dayton City Commission runoff, Joey Williams is leading with 6,384 votes, Jeffrey Mims Jr. is in second with 5,282 votes, David Greer is third with 2,230, David Esrati is in fourth with 2,087 votes and Joseph Lutz is fifth with 1,696.

The top four vote-getters will advance to the November election for two commission seats, with the fifth-place candidate being eliminated.