breaking news

Student group of Boonshoft School of Medicine wins Excellence Award

Published: Friday, August 17, 2018 @ 10:31 PM

The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine Family Medicine student group was awarded the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Program of Excellence Award on Aug. 3, according to a release.

They were honored during the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students in Kansas City, and this is the third time in the last four years that Wright State has received this award.

OTHER NEWS: Crews battling two fully involved vacant house fires on Norman Avenue in Dayton

Content Continues Below

Family Medicine Interest Groups (FMIGs) are medical school-sponsored, student- and faculty-run organizations that give medical students a chance to learn more about family medicine through regular meetings, workshops, leadership development opportunities and community and clinical experiences, the release stated.

The Program of Excellence Awards recognizes FMIGs for their efforts to promote interest in family medicine and programming.

The student group received the Professional Development and Inter-professional Collaboration award for offering medical students a glimpse into family medicine and the many different career opportunities available.

Got a tip? Call our monitored 24-hour line, 937-259-2237, or send it to