Abbottsville United Methodist Church, Aley Christian Academy, Aley United Methodist Church, Center for Spiritual Living Greater Dayton, Central Chapel Church-Yellow Springs, Church of the Cross United Methodist, Corinth Presbyterian Church, Dayton Electrical J.A.T.C., Deliverance Temple Ministries International, Dixon United Methodist Church, Emmanuel Baptist Church-Dayton, Evangelical United Methodist Church-Xenia, Fairborn Free Will Baptist Church, Faith in Christ Lutheran Church, First Baptist Church of Dayton, Fowler Road Church, Grace Lutheran - Eaton, Grape Grove Church of Christ, Greenview Calvary Tabernacle, Lewisburg Baptist Church, Maple Avenue Church of God, Nashville United Church of Christ, Potsdam UMC, Rising Star Missionary Baptist Church, Summit Christian Church, Waynesville United Methodist Church,

severe weather

Jennifer Lopez to receive MTV Video Vanguard award at VMAs

Published: Wednesday, August 01, 2018 @ 3:01 PM

What You Need To Know About Jennifer Lopez

Jennifer Lopez is being awarded at the 2018 MTV Video Music Awards with the show’s biggest honor.

>> Read more trending news 

The 49-year-old singer, dancer and mother of two will receive the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award. MTV announced the news Tuesday, adding that Lopez will perform at the show for the first time since 2001.

Content Continues Below

Related: 2018 MTV Video Music Awards: What time, channel, who is nominated?

The honor isn’t just exciting for J.Lo fans. The musician is the first Latin artist to get the award in the history of the VMAs.

The award started in 1984 and has been awarded on and off since then. The award, originally the Video Vanguard Award, was renamed for Jackson in 1991.

Photos: Jennifer Lopez through the years

“I grew up in the MTV era, like I said, so I was watching all the way back from Tina Tuner and Bruce Springsteen and Madonna and Janet and Michael and all of them,” Lopez said on TRL Tuesday. “They were my inspirations to even get into the music business to do what I did. Their videos inspired me to do the videos that I did, so now to be 20 years in and here and winning this award -- it’s mind-blowing.”

Lopez’s honor puts her in good company. David Bowie, The Beatles, Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Britney Spears, Kanye West, Rihanna and Beyonce have gotten the award in the past.

The 2018 MTV VMAs are Aug. 20 at 9 p.m.