breaking news

Flyers say goodbye to a legend

Published: Saturday, September 15, 2012 @ 5:26 PM
Updated: Saturday, September 15, 2012 @ 5:26 PM

Coaches often say, “It’s not about the X’s and O’s but more about the Jims and the Joes.”

For the past 19 years it’s been all about one Joe at Robert Morris University. Former NFL player and coach Joe Walton is the only coach in the history of the football program. He literally built it from scratch, buying equipment, hiring assistants, lining the field and recruiting players.

This is his final season, as he leaves behind a stadium on the suburban Pittsburgh campus that bears his name, a league-high six NEC regular-season titles, NCAA mid-major national titles in 1999 and 2000, and in 2010 the school’s first spot in the FCS playoffs.

But in all that time, he has actually put more players into the NFL (3; Tim Hall, Hank Fraley, Robb Butler) than he has victories over the University of Dayton (2). The Flyers won the first meeting in 1996, 31-21, and Saturday’s 20-14 victory at Welcome Stadium tipped UD’s edge in the series to 13-2.

Robert Morris has played Dayton more than any nonconference foe, and against teams they have faced 15 times or more, UD is the only one against which Walton has a losing record.

Joe Walton’s frustration may have boiled to the surface in 2008. Robert Morris, as a member of the NEC, gives 32 athletic scholarships, while Dayton plays in the non-scholarship Pioneer Football League. After another loss, Walton speculated that UD must be giving scholarships to have players that good. That prompted the mother of Corey and Scott Vossler to send him a copy of her tuition bill.

I think the reason Dayton has fared so well in the series is Walton. His hard-nosed style and pro pedigree have caused Flyer teams, even undermanned ones, to rise to the occasion. As he heads into retirement I will miss Joe Walton, not because the Flyers had his number, but rather because he made the Flyers better.

Jackson, Love, Mayfield three finalists for 2017 Heisman Trophy

Published: Monday, December 04, 2017 @ 9:08 PM

John W. Heisman: The Man Behind the Trophy

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Stanford running back Bryce Love and Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield are this year’s Heisman Trophy finalists, according to the Heisman Trust, which made the announcement on ESPN Monday night.

>> Read more trending news

The Heisman is one of the most prestigious awards in sports and the top award in college football.

Jackson is looking for a repeat after winning the trophy last year, hoping to become the second player to win the award two years in a row after Archie Griffin did it in 1974 and 1975. And he’s got a good chance at it, throwing for 3,489 yards and making 25 touchdowns this season, according to Sports Illustrated.

Mayfield is a favorite to win, though, leading the Sooners to their third straight Big 12 title. Mayfield broke his own 2016 record this season, setting a Football Bowl Subdivision record for passing efficiency, SI reported. He threw for 4,340 yards with 41 touchdowns, the second highest number of the season.

Love scored 17 touchdowns and was second in the country for rushing with 1,973 yards. He did it mostly with a seriously injured ankle, too.

>> Related: 2 Georgia players arrested after SEC championship game

The Heisman has been awarded to the best college football player dating back to 1935, although the first award was called the DAC Trophy after New York’s Downtown Athletic Club. The name of the award was changed to the Heisman Memorial Trophy in 1936 after the death of legendary football coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman.

The winner of the 2017 Heisman Trophy will be announced at a ceremony Saturday in New York.

2017-18 College Football Bowl schedule

Published: Sunday, December 03, 2017 @ 4:30 PM

Alabama head coach Nick Saban has his team in the College Football Playoffs as the No. 4 seed. (AP Photo/Brynn Anderson, File)
Brynn Anderson/AP
Alabama head coach Nick Saban has his team in the College Football Playoffs as the No. 4 seed. (AP Photo/Brynn Anderson, File)(Brynn Anderson/AP)

Here is the complete college football bowl game schedule for 2017-18:

Dec. 16

Celebration Bowl: Grambling vs. North Carolina A&T

New Orleans Bowl: Troy vs. North Texas

Cure Bowl: Georgia State vs. Western Kentucky

Las Vegas Bowl: Boise State vs. Oregon

New Mexico Bowl: Marshall vs. Colorado State

Camellia Bowl: Arkansas State vs. Middle Tennessee

Dec. 19

Boca Raton Bowl: FAU vs. Temple

Dec. 20

Frisco Bowl: SMU vs. Louisiana Tech

Dec. 21

Gasparilla Bowl: Temple vs. Florida International 

Dec. 22

Bahamas Bowl: Ohio vs. UAB

Potato Bowl: CMU vs. Wyoming

Dec. 23

Birmingham Bowl: USF vs. Texas Tech

Armed Forces Bowl: Army vs. San Diego State

Dollar General Bowl: Appalachian State vs. Toledo

Dec. 24

Hawaii Bowl: Fresno State vs. Houston

Dec. 26

Heart of Dallas Bowl: Utah vs. West Virginia

Quick Lane Bowl: Duke vs. Northern Illinois

Cactus Bowl: Kansas State vs. UCLA 

Dec. 27

Independence Bowl: Florida State vs. Southern Mississippi

Pinstripe Bowl: Boston College vs. Iowa

Foster Farms Bowl: Arizona vs. Purdue

Texas Bowl: Texas vs. Missouri

Dec. 28

Military Bowl: Virginia vs. Navy

Camping World Bowl: Oklahoma State vs. Virginia Tech

Holiday Bowl: Michigan State vs. Washington State

Alamo Bowl: Stanford vs. TCU

Dec. 29

Belk Bowl: Wake Forest vs. Texas A&M

Sun Bowl: Arizona State vs. NC State

Music City Bowl: Kentucky vs. Northwestern

Arizona Bowl: New Mexico State vs. Utah State

Cotton Bowl: Ohio State vs. USC

Dec. 30

TaxSlayer Bowl: Mississippi State vs. Texas A&M

Liberty Bowl: Memphis vs. Iowa State

Fiesta Bowl: Penn State vs. Washington

Orange Bowl: Miami vs. Wisconsin

Jan. 1

Outback Bowl: Michigan vs. South Carolina

Peach Bowl: Auburn vs. UCF

Citrus Bowl: Notre Dame vs. LSU

Rose Bowl Playoff semifinal: Oklahoma vs. Georgia

Sugar Bowl Playoff semifinal: Clemson vs. Alabama

Dec. 8

Playoff National Championship: Rose winner vs. Sugar winner

Tennessee State player expelled after punching coach on sideline

Published: Tuesday, November 14, 2017 @ 4:59 PM

College Football Player Expelled For Punching Coach

After punching his coach on the sideline, a Tennessee State University football player has been dismissed from the team and expelled from school, according to a report by the Tennessean.

>> Read more trending news

Senior defensive end Latrelle Lee hit the Tigers strength coach T.J. Greenstone twice in the head Saturday and then knocked him to the ground on the sideline.

The Tennessean reported Tennessee State athletics director Teresa Phillips said Lee was kicked off the team by head football coach Rod Reed.

The 22-year-old from Dothan, Alabama, was expelled from the college on Monday, according to the Tennessean.

Joe Tiller, former Purdue football coach, dies at 74

Published: Saturday, September 30, 2017 @ 1:35 PM

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images
(Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Former Purdue football coach Joe Tiller died Saturday. He was 74.

Tiller's death was announced on the Purdue football program’s Twitter account.

>> Read more trending news

Tiller set the record for most wins in the school's football program. He coached the Boilermakers from 1997 to 2008, where his overwall record was 87-62, ESPN reported. Tiller began his head coaching career at Wyoming. 

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees released a statement to offer his condolences. Brees attended Purdue from 1997-2000 and led the Boilermakers to a Big Ten Championship and Rose Bowl appearance during the 2000 season, according to the quarterback’s official website.