2017 in review: Highest-grossing movies this year

Published: Wednesday, December 27, 2017 @ 10:10 AM

Most Talked About Movies of 2017

The year in movies was dominated by superheros, but horror, science fiction and children’s movies also topped the box office.

>> Read more trending news 

Franchises like the revamped “Star Wars” films and Marvel movies like “Thor: Ragnarok” and “Spider-Man: Homecoming” were notable movies that audiences didn’t want to miss. 

This image released by Disney-Marvel shows the character Groot, voiced by Vin Diesel, in a scene from "Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2."(Disney-Marvel via AP/AP)

According to Box Office Mojo, here are the top 10 highest domestic grossing movies released in 2017 as of Dec. 27

10. “The Fate of the Furious” - $225,764,765

9. “Logan” - $226,277,068

8. “Despicable Me 3” - $264,559,530

7. “Thor: Ragnarok” - $306,375,120

6. “It” - $327,481,748

5. “Spider-Man: Homecoming” - $334,201,140

4. “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” - $389,813,101

3. “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” - $395,627,411

2. “Wonder Woman” - $412,563,408

1. “Beauty and the Beast” - $504,014,165

Trending - Most Read Stories

Priscilla Presley shares new details about Elvis Presley’s final days

Published: Monday, March 19, 2018 @ 8:11 PM

Entertainer, Elvis Presley sits cheek to cheek wit his bride, the former Priscilla Ann Beaulieu, following their wedding May 1, 1967.
Bettmann/Bettmann Archive
Entertainer, Elvis Presley sits cheek to cheek wit his bride, the former Priscilla Ann Beaulieu, following their wedding May 1, 1967.(Bettmann/Bettmann Archive)

Elvis Presley’s ex-wife, Priscilla Presley, candidly opens up about the King of Rock-'n'-Roll’s final years, and his painful drug addiction, during the debut of “Elvis Presley: The Searcher” at SXSW.

>> Read more trending news 

Elvis Presley may have passed away more than 40 years ago, but the life that he lived continues to fascinate people across the globe.

As fans know, during his final years, Elvis was deeply addicted to prescription drugs. His ex-wife, Priscilla Presley, is now opening up about the unfortunate addiction that sadly led to the late musical icon’s tragic death in 1977.

>> Related: Things get personal in the Lisa Marie Presley bankruptcy saga

According to Fox News, Priscilla, who helped produce a documentary that honors the King called “Elvis Presley: The Searcher,” spoke about her ex-husband’s issue with substance abuse during the movie’s debut at the South by Southwest Film Festival (SXSW) in Austin, Texas, on March 14.

It was difficult for all of us. We certainly didn’t see it coming,” she said of Elvis’ unfortunate passing at the age of 42. “But we certainly saw the journey he was taking.”

She also added, “People go, ‘Well, why didn’t anyone do anything?’ Well, that’s not true. People there in the inner group did, but you did not tell Elvis Presley what to do. You did not. I mean, you’d be out of there faster than a scratched cat. They would try and no way. He knew what he was doing.”

Elvis and Priscilla met in 1959 while he was serving in the U.S. Army. During the candid discussion at SXSW, Priscilla also noted that he started taking pills when he was stationed in Germany.

>> Related: Priscilla Presley divulges a detail about Elvis Presley that will shock you

“They gave them to the soldiers over there to keep them awake,” she said. “He was on guard at that time. He had maneuvers that he had to do late at night, so the pills were given to the guys, and that’s how he started. And if you take a sleeping pill, you have to do something to get yourself awake … He was in unchartered territory, he truly was, and he did this and tried to do this alone.”

Fans can learn more about the late star in “Elvis Presley: The Searcher.” The documentary, which chronicles his creative journey from early childhood through his final recording session, held in the famous Jungle Room of his Graceland estate in Memphis, Tennessee, premieres April 14 on HBO.

Trending - Most Read Stories

Chip and Joanna Gaines: 10 things to know

Published: Friday, March 16, 2018 @ 4:12 PM

Who are Chip & Joanna Gaines?

Chip and Joanna Gaines rose to fame on their HGTV series “Fixer Upper.” Although their hit series is ending, the family has multiple business across their town of Waco, Texas, and a line of decor at Target.

>> Read more trending news 

Here are some facts about the couple.

The Gaines opened their first business together in 2003

Magnolia Market came from a dream Joanna Gaines had. The business opened in 2003, but the couple later closed it to focus on their first two children, Drake and Ella Rose. During that time, they focused on their construction business, Magnolia Homes.

FORT WORTH, TX - NOVEMBER 05: 'Fixer Upper' stars Chip and Joanna Gaines pose with the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series AAA Texas 500 pace car at Texas Motor Speedway on November 5, 2017 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)(Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

The first Magnolia Market, known as the Little Shop on Bosque, reopened in 2014. After outgrowing the space, the business moved to downtown Waco in October 2015 and became the Magnolia Silos location.

Chip and Joanna married in 2003

Chip and Joanna married in Waco, Texas, on March 31, 2003.

Ten years with this man. It's been a fun journey! #stillsmiling

A post shared by Joanna Stevens Gaines (@joannagaines) on

Chip surprised Joanna with a gathering of family and friends for their 12th anniversary in 2015. Some of the celebration aired during season three of “Fixer Upper.”

“The party itself was so intimate with just family and close friends in attendance,” Joanna told Style Me Pretty. “Chip stood up and read the sweetest speech and there was also live music played by a dear friend of ours. All the details and meaning behind this party really touched me, and when I think back to that sweet day Chip surprised me I feel so loved and honored to be his!"

They have a big family

The Gaineses are parents to four children and have one on the way. They have two boys, Drake and Duke, and two girls, Ella Rose and Emmie Kay. Joanna is pregnant with a baby boy who is due in July.

Related: ‘Fixer Upper’ stars Chip and Joanna Gaines reveal gender of new baby

Chip and Joanna both went to Baylor University

Baylor University has been frequently featured in some capacity on “Fixer Upper.” Although Chip and Joanna Gaines both went to the school, they did not meet there. Chip graduated with a marketing and business administration degree in 1998. Joanna graduated with a communications degree in 2001.

They practice Christianity

Chip and Joanna are Christians and are outspoken about their faith. In 2016, they did an interview about their relationship with each other and their faith with I Am Second.

Chip has said Joanna allows him to be himself

“I feel like she knows me in a way that has caused me to stop acting,” Chip told I Am Second. “I feel like I’ve really been an actor -- I’ve been a character my whole life. I’ve always tried to prove something to someone. 

“When I caught her. I felt like I could be content. I felt like I could be exactly who I was.”

Joanna credits Chip with pushing her to start her own business, which became their home-renovation company

“If I didn’t have Chip Gaines in my life, I’d still be dreaming in my head but not acting out on any of that. Not living it out,” Joanna told I Am Second, adding that her husband pushed her out of her comfort zone.

Chip had multiple businesses before meeting his wife

Joanna met Chip in 2001, when she worked at her dad’s tire shop in Waco.

Related: Chip, Joanna Gaines team up with Target to release home-decor line

In an interview with “Today”, Joanna said her husband had a wash-and-fold business and a landscaping business, among others.

Joanna is of mixed heritage

Joanna is multiracial, and shared her heritage with fans on her website.

“I love hearing all the guesses,” Joanna Gaines said on a Q&A on the Magnolia website. “Although I did play Pocahontas in high school, I am not Native American. My father is half Lebanese/half German and my mother is full Korean.”

The Gaines’ businesses go beyond houses and home decor

In addition to their Target line of home decor, their renovation business and Magnolia Silos, the Gaines are opening a restaurant in Waco. Magnolia Table is opening at the location of Elite Cafe, a historical restaurant in Waco that closed in 2016.

Trending - Most Read Stories

‘Fixer Upper’ stars Chip and Joanna Gaines reveal gender of new baby

Published: Monday, March 12, 2018 @ 8:52 PM

"Fixer Upper" Stars Announce Gender of Baby Number Five

Fixer Upper” stars Chip and Joanna Gaines finally know the sex of their unborn child.

It’s a boy!

>> Read more trending news 

Chip made the announcement in a video he shared on Twitter Wednesday.

“We’re just about to have another little baby, because Uncle Chip lost his mind,” Chip tells a youngster in the footage. “Now, listen to this. This is important: I can’t think of a ‘D’ name. So, can you help me think of a ‘D’ name?”

Related: Chip and Joanna Gaines: 10 things to know

Chip then tells his young companion that Joanna is pregnant with a little boy.

“Is that a secret? I don’t know. That might not even be allowed on Twitter,” the HGTV star claimed. “You better keep that to yourself, dude. But listen to me: It’s a little boy, and I need a ‘D’ name. And so far, all I can come up with is Dragon. [Joanna was] like, ‘You are not calling that baby Dragon!’ Can you help me?”

Earlier this week, Joanna showed off her biggest baby bump to date in a few pics on Instagram alongside her husband and their pal Tim Tebow.

“What an amazing (sic) weekend with the @timtebowfoundation Thank you for giving hope and love to so many #ttfgolf2018,” Gaines wrote alongside the gallery of images from the weekend.

In January, the Gaineses surprised fans when they announced they were expecting baby number five with an adorable post to social media.

“Gaines party of 7.. (If you’re still confused.. WE ARE PREGNANT) @joannagaines,” Chip Gaines wrote alongside the sweet photo of the couple in coordinating grey sweatshirts and matching bumps.

Chip and Joanna Gaines Announce Baby Number 5 On The Way

Trending - Most Read Stories

AMC Theaters hosting 12-film Marvel movie marathon before ‘Infinity War’

Published: Monday, March 19, 2018 @ 2:44 PM

Marvel Studios'
Marvel Studios' "Avengers: Infinity War" L to R: Okoye (Danai Gurira), Black Panther/T'Challa (Chadwick Boseman), Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans), Black Widow/Natasha Romanoff (Scarlet Johansson) and Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan).(Chuck Zlotnick / Marvel Studios)

If you have a list of Marvel movies to watch before “Avengers: Infinity War,” AMC Theaters has you covered.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the movie theater company is hosting a 12-film Marvel Cinematic Universe marathon on April 25. The 31-hour marathon will be at AMC Empire 25 in New York and AMC Disney Springs 24 in Orlando, Florida.

>> Read more trending news 

AMC Theaters said the marathon will include an early airing of “Infinity War.”

“This premium event will include, marathon only collectibles, exclusive content, and a special concession offer,” said reads a description of the event on AMC’s website

“Infinity War” will start at 6 p.m., an hour earlier than its regular public show times, according to the website

The schedule for the MCU marathon is below:

“Iron Man” at 1:30 p.m.

“The Incredible Hulk” at 4:00 p.m.

“Thor” at 6:15 p.m.

“Captain America: The First Avenger” at 9:00 p.m.

“The Avengers” at 11:30 p.m.

“Guardians of the Galaxy” at 2:15 a.m.

“Avengers: Age of Ultron” at 4:30 a.m.

“Captain America: Civil War” at 7:15 a.m.

“Doctor Strange” at 10:00 a.m.

“Spider-Man: Homecoming” at 12:45 p.m.

“Black Panther” at 3:15 p.m.

“Avengers: Infinity War” at 6:00 p.m.

Trending - Most Read Stories